Applied Mechanics Lab - Brown University

Mechanics of Materials

Research | Publications | Presentations | News | Team


Meet The Team

Haneesh Kesari

Assistant Professor of Engineering, Primary Investigator

haneesh_kesari@brown.edu

Haneesh Kesari is currently an Assistant Professor of Engineering at Brown University. He is affiliated with the Solid Mechanics group at Brown. He is interested in theoretical and experimental mechanics problems related to contact, adhesion, and fracture of solids. Previously, he obtained his Ph.D. and M.S. degrees from Stanford University in 2011 and 2007, respectively, and his B.S. degree from Indian Institute of Technology Guwahati, all in Mechanical Engineering. At Stanford, he was awarded the Juan Simo Outstanding Thesis award and the Herbert Kunzel Fellowship.




Wenqiang Fang

PhD Student '21

wenqiang_fang@brown.edu

Wenqiang Fang is a PhD student in the Applied Mechanics Lab at Brown University. He is currently in his last year of his PhD study. He is working on the mechanics of 1D continua with applications in bio-inspired engineering. His research mainly focuses on theoretical modeling and numerical simulations of the mechanical properties and stabilities of mineralized biological systems. Wenqiang obtained his B.S. degree in Mechanical Engineering from Tsinghua University in 2015. He likes outdoor sports including hiking, skiing and diving.

Wenbo Sun

Masters Student '20

wenbo_sun@brown.edu

Wenbo Sun is obtaining his Master of Science in Engineering at Brown University. He received his B.S. degree in Theoretical and Applied Mechanics from the University of Science and Technology of China (USTC) in June 2018. He joined the Applied Mechanics Lab at Brown in October of 2018.

Sayaka Kochiyama

PhD Student '24

sayaka_kochiyama@brown.edu

Sayaka is a PhD student in the School of Engineering at Brown University.

Yang Wan

PhD Student '24

yang_wan@brown.edu

Yang Wan is a PhD student conducting research in Solid Mechanics at Brown University. His research interests include fracture mechanics, biomechanics, and computational mechanics. He is working on the theory and experimentation of rigid body motion with applications to helmet design to prevent Mild Traumatic Brain Injury.

Alumni

Md Masiur Rahaman

Post-doctoral Scholar'19

mohammad_rahaman@brown.edu

Michael A Monn

Post-doctoral Scholar'19 PhD'18

maxmonnphoto@gmail.com

Kaushik Vijaykumar

PhD Student'19

kaushik_vijaykumar@brown.edu

Victoria Lee

BS, Mechanical Engineering, Brown University '15

PhD Candidate, Mechanical Engineering, Caltech '20

victoriajlee2@gmail.com

Saamia Zia

Sc.B Candidate, Mechanical Engineering '22

A.B Candidate in Computer Science - Economics '22

saamia_zia@brown.edu

Jarod Ferreira

M.Sc., Solid Mechanics '16

Weilin Deng

Post-doctoral Scholar'20 PhD'19

weilin_deng@brown.edu